Adaptive Swimming/Aquatic Therapy/Water Safety

We are making an effort to get the word out regarding where parents can find adaptive swim lessons, aquatic therapy, and water safety instruction for their children with autism. Here are the sources of various types we know about – this list is under construction and is listed by county. Please ask providers what services they provide so you can make the best choices for your family. See additional strategies here.

  • Remember that the Medicaid Waiver can be used to pay for aquatic therapy through a Recreational Therapist. Speak with your Case Manager about this option.
  • Autism Speaks has a Swimming and Water Safety Scholarship Fund. It is for the providers of services. Families are encouraged to pass this information along to their provider and apply on behalf of their family.
  • Association of Aquatic Professionals offers Swim Lesson Grants for service providers.

 

Boone

Boone County YMCA, Makala Brinkley, Makayla.Brinkley@DMYMCA.org, Lebanon 46052

 

Elkhart

YMCA of Elkhart County, Terri Oliver, toliver@ymcaelkhart.com, Elkhart 46516

 

Floyd

Floyd County YMCA, Wendy Winter, wwinter@ymcasi.org, New Albany 47150

 

Hamilton

Applied Behavior Center for Autism Special Needs Swim Program, 317-573-5437, Carmel 46032

Monon Community Center, Michelle Yadon, 317-848-7275, Carmel 46032

Stony Creek Swim Center Aqua Abilities, Jennifer Gipson, 317-773-7399, Noblesville 46060

 

Hancock

FUSE Adaptive Swim Program, Greenfield 46140

 

Harrison

YMCA of Harrison County, Andy Pappano, apappano@ymcaharrison.org, Corydon, 47112

 

Hendricks

Hendricks Regional Health YMCA, Andrea Ziegler, aziegler@indymca.org, Avon 46231

 

Henry

Henry County YMCA, Dawn Cole, dcole@henrycountyymca.org, New Castle 47362

 

Kosciusko

Kosciusko Community YMCA Inc., Steven Kuhn, skuhn@kymca.org, Warsaw 46580

 

Marion

Arthur Jordan Branch YMCA, Amanda Walker, awalker@indymca.org, Indianapolis 46240

IUPUI Motor Activity Clinic, Katie Stanton-Nichols, kstanton@iupui.edu, Indianapolis 46202

Jewish Community Center, Rachel Kesner, rkesner@jfgi.org, Indianapolis 46260

Joseph Maley Foundation, Cory Hernandez, coryh@josephmaley.org, Indianapolis 46268

 

Monroe

Monroe County YMCA, Jennifer Eggleston, jennifereggleston@gmail.com, Bloomington 47401

 

Ripley

South Eastern Indiana YMCA, Kristen Fletcher, kfletcher@siymca.org, Batesville 47006

 

Tippecanoe

Pete’s Pals, Emma Werry, petespalpurdue@gmail.com, 812-781-1618, West Lafayette 47906

 

Vanderburgh

YMCA Evansville, Kelly Boylls, boylls@ymca.evansville.net, Evansville 47708

 

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email